Animal Prisons

December 27, 2007

smalllion.jpgThe concept of putting wild animals in cages for the enjoyment of people has always made me sad, and more than a little disgusted. Circuses, zoos and rodeos top the list of things that horrify me but are deemed ‘entertainment’ to other people, and i’ve never really understood it.

Last year I urged our local free paper (not the local ‘news’ paper) to do an article on how the rodeo is akin to dogfighting in its gross mistreatment of animals, but the editor told me to write it myself and send it in. Obviously, I am no journalist and thus deleted his response without a second thought.

But now I read the headlines about a tiger escaping from it’s pen and killing someone, I feel compelled to revisit my awful feelings of horror that scream ‘why the hell are we surprised when a wild animal breaks free from it’s prison and mauls someone’. Why do people find pleasure in strolling through caged arenas of animals that should be free?

I’m not a total party pooper, I have a child who I am certain would love seeing all the animals in a circus or zoo. But I can’t pretend that these places don’t send a message to her, one that says we humans still see ourselves as superior creatures, ones who have the right to mistreat others for our own gain.

If we don’t eat the animals because they are penned up and mistreated in confined feedlots, why would we go see them locked away in cages at a zoo just for fun?

Leave a Reply

