In the Raw

February 8, 2008

Of all the things we have done as a family to lessen our impact on the environment, the most important and dramatic has been changing our diet. Initially, I switched our home to a vegetarian diet after watching the meet you meat video and started to incorporate more organic and locally grown produce whenever possible (not entirely easy in the Colorado Rocky Mountains). The change was seemless and while it did not reduce our grocery bill, I felt good about our efforts.

Recently, following a NY Times article reiterating some of the things I knew about the effects of cattle rearing on our planet, I began looking deeper into my food consumption habits. Christmas, of course, was a time of indulgence and I awoke in January feeling as if Santa had actually run me over with his sleigh. Poking around the internet let me to the raw food movement.

The theory behind raw or living foods is that the cooking process destroys the beneficial enzymes that live in the food, and since our bodies have a limited supply of these essential enzymes, we must obtain them from living food. There is a wealth of knowledge about the living food world available but I have found Raw Reform to be inspirational, educational and actually humorous.

Currently I make breakfast and lunch my raw meals, and chose a healthy, whole grain dinner that I am able to fix for the whole family. So far it is working out, however, I have struggled with feeling cold and hungry more than I am accustomed to. I do attribute this to the 30 feet of snow that has fallen in my town this season though, and know that my mind is adjusting to eating less just as much as my body.

It’s a fascinating journey and I hope the way my daughter will look at food as she grows into her own decision making years will be forever changed by the lessons she is learning in our home.

2 Responses to “In the Raw”

  1. […] i’ve been struggling with the price i’m paying to be faithful to me newfound love of raw living. As I incorporate more nutrient dense foods such a bee pollen, my grocery bill skyrockets. Not only […]

  2. Thanks for the video. I am aware of the sufferings the animals have to undergo and what they are fed before they reach the table, but I never thought it was to the extent I have seen on the video. It was terrifying. Eating those animals woud certainly be bad for the health. I do not eat meat, only a little fish,
    and an egg now and again, but we shop where we get the organic stuff. I am aware that raw foods are living and the best to eat. I have a friend who is 83 now and has been living on raw foods for over sixty years. He is thinking of wrutung a book on the subject. I am also aware that in some parts of the world, meat has to be eaten as there is nothing else, but the people eat healthy wild animals. I commend you for your video. You have a worthy mission.

Leave a Reply

