Selling Melons for Money

February 13, 2008

photo_4528_20071220.jpgBeing frugal by nature, I struggle with the price i’m paying to be faithful to my newfound love of raw living. As I incorporate more nutrient dense foods such a bee pollen, my grocery bill skyrockets. Not only that, but since the US requires pasteurization of many raw items, i’m forced to acknowledge the oil used to bring my raw cashews from who-knows-where – presumably Canada where pasteurization is not mandatory.

I don’t live in a climate where I can wander down the street eating fresh oranges that are hanging onto the sidewalk or avocados that have rolled in to my yard as I did when I lived on Maui. I live in Colorado where the trees that I planted last fall are buried under 10 feet of snow.

It’s easy to rationalize my purchases, arguing that I do not spend money on alcohol since I don’t drink (maybe worth $20/week) and have weened myself from my daily nonfat latte habit (at least another $20/week not to mention additional savings for eliminating tortured cow’s milk from my diet) – but still, I paid $8 for a honeydew melon at Safeway yesterday, and it wasn’t even organic.

Suddenly buying a piece of dirt in a warm climate and growing my own food sounds sort of nice. That way, when the peak oil is upon is (I know, it already is upon us), I can sell my own melons for $8 and have yummy living food for my family. Somehow that came out sounding illegal, but really, it’s worth thinking about.

2 Responses to “Selling Melons for Money”

  1. Chile said

    Where are you considering moving to that is warm? If desert, consider whether it will have enough water to grow your melons as the West moves into its normal dry conditions. (See Nat Geo article on the drying of the West.) If it is coastal, consider whether your melons may drown as the sea level rises. (See almost any site on climate change/global warming predictions.)

    A greenhouse there in Colorado might be a better bet for those melons! 🙂

  2. emeraldmoon said

    Yes, a greenhouse is on my agenda. Although so is starting an ecovillage in Nicaragua. I really loved the Nat Geo article, and follow the water issues very closely, particularly those relating to sucking our precious Colorado River dry to keep L.A habitable.

Leave a Reply

